Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 29th, 2009

Temperature was gradually dropping outside Guy Fawkes hotel. My freezing southeast asian blood was a small price for that meander back in time on The Shambles. The british sun was heading west and the vesper chimes beckoned me inside Northern Europe’s largest gothic cathedral. Unknown to me then was that I would be going back to Bangkok with an unusual present for Cj; my feature for this week’s Mommy Moments theme: precious gift

and it looks like this:


York Minster needs “9 pounds per minute to maintain, day and night.” As I’m a sucker for art and history, I was meaningfully happy to be given the chance to contribute to its “conservation, musical life, education services, it’s daily life and work.” While waiting for the gift to be sorted, I lighted a candle in memory of my father.

**********

It’s a piece of simple paper which I fondly call Cj’s roll of parchment. It reads:

THE CATHEDRAL AND METROPOLITICAL CHURCH OF

SAINT PETER IN YORK


YORK MINSTER


THE DEAN AND CHAPTER ACKNOWLEDGE WITH

GRATITUDE THE GIFT RECEIVED FROM



CEEJAY


TO MAINTAIN THE MINSTER FOR A PERIOD OF 2 MINUTES

DATED THIS 12TH OF APRIL 2006


KEITH JONES, Dean of York

Cj was to blow two candles on his second cake five weeks after this certificate was made. You know what they say – children are a blessing. My life is certainly so much better in many ways with Cj in it.

He’s got himself as my precious gift


~ Mommy Moments is brought to you by Chris of The Mommy Journey ~

Read Full Post »